Dr. Johnson-Fannin addresses students at the White Coat Ceremony for the Class of 2013.

This year’s pharmacy students took an oath pledging their devotion to providing the best patient care possible at the fourth annual White Coat Ceremony on Sept. 25.

Dr. Arcelia Johnson-Fannin, founding dean of the Feik School of Pharmacy, presided over the ceremony. The Class of 2013 listened as Paul F. Davis, R.Ph., executive director of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists, gave the keynote speech. UIW president Dr. Louis Agnese delivered words of encouragement to the students.

The Class of 2013 consists of 101 students, 74 female and 27 male. Fifty-two students are the first in their families to attend college. Ninety students are from Texas, nine are from out of state, and two of the students are international. The majority of the Texas students are from the San Antonio area.

The pharmacy school will graduate its first class in Spring 2010.