2013 Cutting Edge

The 2013 Cutting Edge Fiesta® Fashion Show, held in memory of Kathleen Watson, drew a record crowd of over 900 guests to the San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter on April 22. The annual event is a showcase for seniors of UIW’s fashion program who illustrate, design and construct the garments. The show is produced entirely by students. UIW senior Ashley Pugh won the top awards taking home the Kathleen Watson Award for Best of Show as well as first place in construction and first place design for her collection titled “The Wedding Party.” Pugh’s spring bridal collection included a wide range of silhouettes from sleek, long gowns to short, cocktail dresses with careful attention spent on detail and craftsmanship.

The Kathleen Watson Award for Best of Show is determined by the garment scored highest by a panel of judges and includes a $1,500 scholarship from the Watson Foundation.

Construction and design awards were also given. The third place winner for construction was Shatorria Whitener, third place winner for design was Ana Leija Yamamoto and second place for construction and second place for design were both awarded to Chasity Taylor.

The student designers featured in the 2013 show were Celia Alecozay, Courtney Casares, Nabil Gomez, Ana Sylvia Legarreta, Ashley Pugh, Chasity Taylor, Genevieve Truscott, Shatorria Whitener and Ana Leija Yamamoto.

Anniegogglyn, owned and operated by UIW alumna Allison Young, provided jewelry for the show’s models and designers. Gay Isber of The Sugar Factory, located in Austin, provided statement jewelry pieces from her runway collection and showroom to accentuate the designer garments.

The Cutting Edge Fiesta® Fashion Show is an official Fiesta® event. Guests at this year’s show included Miss Fiesta San Antonio Victoria Flores and Larry Benson, El Rey Feo LXV. Proceeds from UIW’s Cutting Edge Fiesta® Fashion Show provide scholarships for UIW fashion management students. Since 2006, the fashion show, its sponsors and supporters have awarded more than $45,000 in scholarships to students.