Mary Helen “Pinky” Devine Pinner IWHS ’42, IWC ’46 BA held the 59th annual Three Kings Celebration at Brackenridge Villa on Jan. 6. For more about this event, see page 17 in this magazine


Sr. Kathleen Coughlin, CCVI, ’67 BSN was inducted into the Incarnate Word Academy Hall of Fame at the 2011 ceremony in St. Louis in January. She received the Philanthropic Outreach award. Coughlin was also named to the 2011 San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame in Higher Education. She serves as the vice president for Institutional Advancement at the University of the Incarnate Word.

Andrea (Koelzer) Sullivan ’69 BSN has returned to San Antonio to enjoy retirement after 40 years living in Boston. Her husband, Sam, retired in December. Sullivan is looking forward to renewing old friendships.

Sr. Martha Ann Kirk, CCVI, ’68 BA pictured with Ambassador James Creagan, received the Insigne Verbum award during Commencement ceremonies in December. The award recognizes those individuals who have contributed meritorious service to the community and who represent and carry out the Mission of the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word.

Sr. Helena Monahan, CCVI, ’68 BA (with green sash) was named grand marshall of the St. Patrick’s Day parade at the Harp and Shamrocks Society awards banquet held at the Quarry Golf Club. The St. Patrick’s Day parade was March 12 in San Antonio. Pictured with her are Eileen Burke Faught (from left), Mary Jo Quinn, Margaret Burke, Peggy Peters and Joan Moody.


George Gaytan ’81 BM just finished touring with Amy Grant on her intimate concert series in Texas. Gaytan toured in Houston, Austin and Dallas.

Lt. Col. Yolette M. Davis, MS, BSN ’85, LNFA, RN, BC was promoted to lieutenant colonel in the United States Air Force Reserve effective Oct. 1, 2010. She is a member of the 433 AES (Aeromedical Evacuation Squadron), a flying unit at Lackland, Air Force Base, Texas.

Mercedes Foster APRN, CNS ’85 BSN, ’89 MSN was recognized by the Department of Veteran Affairs for 16 years of service and looks forward to enjoying her retirement.


Sandra Moreno ’91 BA finished the San Antonio Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon and Half Marathon and helped UIW take 2nd place in the Extra Large Corporate Division.

Amalia Ortiz ’96 BA premiered her play, “Carmen de la Calle” in a staged reading at the Guadalupe Theater in January. She also was invited to perform her poetry at the Louder than a Bomb festival in Chicago in February and at the Center for Mexican American Studies’ 40th Anniversary Celebration at the University of Texas at Austin in March. When Ortiz is not touring as a performance poet, she is acting, studying and writing in Los Angeles. In December, she shared the stage with legends Amiri Baraka and DJ Disco Wiz at the Voices for the Voiceless poetry concert at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. A chapbook of her work was published by New School Poetics press in February.

E. Yvonne Cantu ’98 BA has been appointed inaugural president of UTSA’s Student Affairs Parent Council.

Asia Ciaravino ’98 BA was named to the 2011 Leadership San Antonio class.


Kevin Bucheck ’00 BA was prominently featured in the St. Louis Business Journal for his work at E.M. Harris Construction.

Rachel Walsh BA ’09 is finishing her first quarter at DePaul University, where she is working toward a master’s in writing and publishing.

Christopher Alvarado ’10 Pharm.D. has been selected as vice president of the Bexar County Pharmaceutical Association and also joined the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Carlos Alvarez ’02 BA co-produced a Tejano album that has been nominated for a Grammy.